top of page
  • Writer's pictureERSS

Transition Year Graduation 2022

Updated: Jun 2, 2022

Last night at the ERSS, we gathered as a school community to bring the Transition Year programme to a close. This important year bridges the gap between the Junior and Senior Cycles and provides an opportunity to enrich and develop the student’s educational experience.

Throughout the year, they have developed their character and become more self-confident. A sincere thank you to the year head Mr Carroll, to the teachers of Transition Year and to the many external personnel and agencies who have made this year a success.

Each of our TY students received their Certificates, presented by former Deputy Principal Mr. Myles Mitchell.

Darragh Cooney was the host of the event and spoke about Model United Nations as well as introduce each speaker

Thomas Smith: Law

Andrew Phelan: Defence forces

Eoin Reid: GAISCE/ Coaching

Nigel Comerford: Bowling

George Culleton: Blueway Cycle/ GAISCE / Slievenamon Hike

Shane Cronin: Go-Karting

Dylan Barry: University College Cork Trip

Ben O Callaghan: Work Experience

Darragh Walsh: Chrysalis Clear Coaching

Patrick O’Neill: Scifest

Thomas Smith: Rotary

There are many students who have contributed to the continued success of the Transition Year Programme. We acknowledge and celebrate all your hard work over the last year and your participation though our Gradam O’Fearaíl Award.

Nominated students this year were:

Shane Cronin, George Culleton, Andrew Phelan and Eoin Reid

The winning student was Patrick O’Neill

The winner of our award for Academic Excellence and student of the year was Adam Lonergan.

This award is to acknowledge the student’s academic efforts and dedication to their studies. We would like to acknowledge all nominees for this prestigious award: Patrick O’Neill, Noah O’Shea, Eoin Reid and Thomas Smith.

Our winner for Sports participation and most improved was Shane Cronin:

Our students also received their Bronze Gaisce awards, presented by their Presidents Award Leader, Mr. Foran.

Finally, our TY students made a presentation to Ms Holden, their Home Economics teacher. Ms Holden has accommodated the boys in Scoil Mhuire and they thoroughly enjoyed their time learning many delicious recipes. Pictured below is our TY 2022 group with Eddie Burke ERST (Left) Ms Martin Holden, Scoil Mhuire (centre) and Mr Myles Mitchell, former Deputy Principal (Right)

Thank you to all our TY teachers, in particular their Year Head Mr Carroll and their coordinators Mr Foran and Ms Moylan (pictured below)

We wish our Transition Year group every success as they move onto Senior Cycle.

188 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summer Newsletters

School newsletter; ERST newsletter;


bottom of page